Throwback Thursdays: Chibi Plushies

Throwback Thursdays 031915

Throwback Thursdays features projects that I made in the past.

I love doing D.I.Y. gifts. A few years ago, I purchased two build your own bear kits from a local shop to make a matching bear set for me and my boyfriend. We still have those bears ’til now.

For our anniversary four years ago, I made him a pair of chibi (miniature) plushies of us using a pattern I drafted myself.

5458405972_28c27f7e11

The plushies are made with fleece and are filled with synthetic fiberfill. They were sewn with a sewing machine, but I think they can easily be made by hand. I wasn’t really good with embroidery, so I used buttons for eyes. Their clothes were made using fabric from a dress I bought from a thrift shop.

5437878491_9f885be53e

Nudity Alert!

 

One of the best things I liked about this project was their interchangeable hair! I used to (mildly) change my haircut a lot, so I wanted to be able to change the hair of my chibi plushie anytime. Having interchangeable hair also means that the plushies can be easily customized.

5458405974_a12759bb64

Plushie buddies on our Tagaytay trip!

 

I believe I still have the pattern for this project somewhere in my files. It’s an easy to make project, perfect for a quick gift for a friend or a special someone.

 

Leave a Reply

