On Dear Resin and Doll Clothes

 

Two years ago, I started a Ball Jointed Doll (BJD) blog called Dear Resin. I blogged about my BJDs, doll-related sewing projects, Manika Manila doll meets, and photostories. Through the blog, I was able to produce my “brand” called Dear Resin, a clothes and accessories shop for BJDs. The Dear Resin blog lasted for around two years, until I was unable to maintain it due to work and “real life” taking over.

Dear Resin logo made by one of my friends.

 

While the blog didn’t last long, Dear Resin as a shop lived on through the Manika Manila forum. I have a shop there where I sell ready made clothes and accessories. I also accept BJD clothing commissions once in a while through the forum marketplace.

Since opening shop last month, I was able to complete a few kigurumi pieces, which I will show some time soon. I’m currently working on testing some new patterns for YoSD sized dolls.*

IMG_3273

I worked on this cute YoSD dress this morning. It still needs some pearl buttons in front and snaps at the back, but I couldn’t resist taking a photo. I have to admit, I really enjoy working on doll clothes in this size. It’s not too big and not too small. It’s also the perfect size for a lot of cutesy clothes.

IMG_3277

Here’s a comparison of doll dresses I make. The biggest one is for SDs, the next size is for YoSDs, and the smallest one is for Tinies. Clothes for SDs are easier to work with in terms of size, but they require a lot of curves and darts to get a nice fit. Clothes for Tinies have little to no curves and have no need for darts, but they are very, very small! It gets hard when you need to sew those tiny corners. On the other hand, YoSD clothes  also have little to no curves and have no need for darts, but it is a lot bigger than clothes for Tinies so it is not as hard to sew.

I still have a few more patterns to test for YoSD dolls. Once I finalize the patterns I made, I’ll be able to accept more commissions for dolls of this size in the future.

 

*Note!

SD – BJDs that 58cm+ tall. Also called as 1:3 scale BJDs.

YoSD – BJDs that are about 26cm tall. Also called as 1:6 scale BJDs

Tiny – BJDs that are abut 16cm tall. Also called as 1:12 scale BJDs

MSD (not mentioned) – BJDs that are about 42cm tall. Also called as 1:4 scaleBJDs.

 

One thought on “On Dear Resin and Doll Clothes

Leave a Reply

